Setting up Cryptowatch
Extensibility and Community
How to use grouping and module preset tools
Learn how to use Cryptowatch Desktop’s grouping and module preset tools to streamline your boards.
The grouping and module preset functions in Cryptowatch Desktop improve the way you create and adjust the content of your boards.

What is module grouping?

Grouping makes it easier to adjust the markets and time interval settings of multiple modules in a short amount of time.
Changing the exchange or market in one module will also affect all other modules in the same group. This can simplify the way you adjust your modules and speed up the creation process altogether.
You can create up to 9 different groupings on a single board.

How to group modules

There are two ways to start grouping modules together — using the module itself and the Edit Module menu.

Using the module

The
icon in the top-left of the module opens the grouping options. This is generally the fastest way to group multiple modules.
  1. 1.
    Click the
    icon
  2. 2.
    Select a group number from the window
  3. 3.
    Repeat for all modules that should have the same market
  4. 4.
    Set the market in any of the grouped modules

Using the Edit Module menu

While editing a module’s settings you may decide to change its grouping.
The Group dropdown menu is immediately below the Module Type in the Edit Module menu.

How to create module presets

After determining the settings of any given module, you can save that state as a module preset. Module presets let you quickly apply a state of module settings to new instances of the same module type.
For example, all of your TA settings (ie. indicators and overlays used, visual style adjustments and adjusted input parameters) can be saved as a preset of the Candle module. When building a fresh board, you can apply the preset to any new price chart.

Making a new module preset

After tweaking the module settings to your liking:
  1. 1.
    Click the Settings button in the top of the module [cogwheel] to open the Edit Module menu
  2. 2.
    Scroll to the bottom to find the Module Preset section
  3. 3.
    Give the preset a name in the field labeled <save as new preset>
  4. 4.
    Click the checkmark to save the preset
After selecting a module preset, use the “Auto-save changes to preset” toggle to simultaneously make changes to every module with the same preset

Applying a module preset

Use the dropdown menu (labeled <none selected>) at the top of the Module Preset section of the Edit Module menu.

Resetting a module to default settings

The module reset button is immediately below the preset selection dropdown. Resetting the module to the built-in default will remove all your changes to the module settings.

Editing a preset

After making changes to a module with a preset applied, click the [floppy disc] Save icon next to the preset’s name in the Edit Module menu.
Alternatively, you can check the box pictured below to auto-save any changes you make to this preset.
To change a module’s name, click the pencil icon next to the module preset’s name in the Edit Module menu.

Deleting a module preset

To delete a module preset:
  1. 1.
    Select a module with the preset applied or apply that preset to a new module
  2. 2.
    Open the Edit Module menu using the Settings button in the top-right of the module
  3. 3.
    Scroll to the module preset area
  4. 4.
    Click the red trashcan next to the module preset’s name to delete
Copy link
On this page
What is module grouping?
How to group modules
How to create module presets